Breton songs on popular prints
Broadsheets database

What’s new?

Release 10 (February 2021)

New: Audio Illustration

Christian Morvan's 78-rpm collection offers 113 songs on Popular Broadsides, corresponding to 79 standard songs.
These interpretations are varied: a-capella singing, accompanied singing, choir. They represent a sample of what was done between 1932 and 1955, often far removed from what we are used to hearing today.
See the audio illustrations

Bibliography

The bibliography, which was very succinct, was brought up to date. In particular, articles published between 1981 and 2020 in Musique Bretonne, Dastum's magazine, have been added. Links have been made between this bibliography, the songs, authors and publishers of Broadside.
See the bibliography

Additions

All 224 Broadsheets from Gwennole Le Menn's collection, made available to us by Brieg Le Menn, have been processed.
In total, this analysis identified 44 new Broadsheets mainly about religious affairs, added a new edition to 15 Broadsheets already listed, identified 58 new songs, 7 new authors (P.M. France, grand vicar; Mauny; William Jenkyn Jones, Barzig Koatnizan; Prigent, lanvilin person; Philippe, rector of Saint-Gilles-Pligeaux (1791); F.M. unidentified) and a new publisher (Tanguy-Burel in Concarneau).

The following Pdfs have been added:
- 108 Pdf from Gwennole Le Menn's collection
- 7 Pdf from Julien Cornic's collection
- 127 Pdf of Broadsheets corresponding to songs existing in Oral Tradition.

Correspondence between Broadsheets and the Oral Tradition

The identification of songs collected in the Oral Tradition that can also be found on popular broadsides continues: 74 new songs have been listed. For the 188 songs currently listed, titles and abstracts have been harmonized in both parts of the site (Broadsheets and Oral Tradition).

Release 9 (May 2020)

Release 8 (December 2019)

Release 7 (August 2019)

Release 6 (September 2018)

Release 5 (March 2017)

Release 4 (November 2016)

Release 3 (September 2016)

Release 2 (March 2016)

Release 1 (January 2016)

To receive an email for Kan.bzh website updates (on average once a quarter), do not hesitate to register!

Contact Facebook Page

Chansons bretonnes sur imprimés populaires
Base de données de feuilles volantes

Quoi de neuf ?

Version 10 (février 2021)

Nouveauté : illustration sonore

La collection de 78 tours de Christian Morvan permet de proposer l’écoute de 113 chansons sur Imprimés populaires, correspondant à 79 chansons-types.
Ces interprétations sont variées : chant a-capella, chant accompagné, chorale. Elles représentent un échantillon de ce qui se faisait entre 1932 à 1955, souvent bien éloigné de ce que l’on a l’habitude d’entendre aujourd’hui.
Voir les illustrations sonores

Bibliographie

La bibliographie, qui était très succincte, a été complétée. Notamment, les articles parus entre 1981 et 2020 dans Musique Bretonne, la revue de Dastum, ont été ajoutés. Des liens ont été établis entre cette bibliographie, les chants, les auteurs et les éditeurs de Feuilles Volantes.
Voir la bibliographie

Ajouts

L’ensemble des 224 Feuilles Volantes de la collection de Gwennole Le Menn, mise à notre disposition par Brieg Le Menn, a été traitée.
Au total, cette analyse a permis d’identifier 44 nouvelles Feuilles Volantes principalement à sujet religieux, d’ajouter une nouvelle édition à 15 Feuilles Volantes déjà répertoriées, d’identifier 58 nouveaux chants, 7 nouveaux auteurs (P.M. France, grand vicaire ; H. Mauny ; William Jenkyn Jones, Barzig Koatnizan ; Prigent, person Lanvilin ; Philippe, recteur de Saint-Gilles-Pligeaux (1791) ; F.M. non identifié) et un nouvel éditeur (Tanguy-Burel à Concarneau).

Des Pdf ont été ajoutés :
- 108 Pdf de la collection de Gwennole Le Menn
- 7 Pdf de la collection de Julien Cornic
- 127 Pdf de Feuilles Volantes correspondant à des chants existant en Tradition Orale.

Correspondance entre Feuilles Volantes et Tradition Orale

L’identification des chants collectés dans la Tradition Orale que l’on retrouve également sur Imprimés Populaires se poursuit : 74 nouveaux chants ont été répertoriés. Pour les 188 chants actuellement recensés, les titres et les résumés ont été harmonisés dans les deux parties du site (Feuilles Volantes et Tradition Orale).

Version 9 (mai 2020)

Version 8 (décembre 2019)

Version 7 (août 2019)

Version 6 (septembre 2018)

Version 5 (mars 2017)

Version 4 (novembre 2016)

Version 3 (septembre 2016)

Version 2 (mars 2016)

Version 1 (janvier 2016)

Pour recevoir un mail lors de la mise à jour du site Kan.bzh (en moyenne une fois par trimestre), n'hésitez pas à vous inscrire !

Contact Page Facebook